When happiness comes from…

…an inanimate stuffed animal that is made in China.

My 6-year old neighbor, Sofia, gave this sluggish dog to me for Christmas as a consequence of her perception that I am so smitten by her stuffed toy collection.

When I was just simply being nice. Truthfully, I don’t like stuffed animals, never did.

But then, a love story began.

I can’t see life without Patch. I named him/her/it that. Ingenuously because of the brown patch on his back. Yes, a sexual orientation has been decided.

I am married to my best friend, I have crazy girlfriends and grew up in a happy family.I have no kids or pets because I killed a cactus plant once and don’t really trust myself in the life cultivation unit. So I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m not clinically depressed and generally happy with life in general.

But this f*****n’ piece of stitched textile is making me so goddamn happy.

Not happy ha-ha, but happy like a cup of hot chocolate.

Fortuitously, I stumbled upon something that the Dalai Lama mentioned in the book, The Art of Happiness (okay, again, I’m not into self-help books but I did purchase it for my Nook solely because I told my half-witted friend that she should be reading “He’s just not that into you” instead of a book by the Dalai Lama. Just wanted to prove to myself I was right when I told her that).

Anyway, it was something like “…the key to true happiness is kindness and compassion…”

Conceivably, that’s exactly what Patch gives me. A sense of kindness and compassion without the benevolence of another human being that is oftentimes accompanied by senseless monologues leaving you with very little energy to be genuinely happy.

He just sits there and watches like a good friend. An enduring, dedicated, sewn sly smile across his face, that says, “it’s all cool, you cool? i’m cool, we’re all cool.”

And sometimes, at the end of the day, maybe that’s all we need.

I do wonder and I was thinking about it last night, does he even know he’s missing a tail?

Was he meant to have one or did the Chinese factory worker forget to attach it and missed him in the assembly line.

Either way, I’m happy he made it all the way here.

Leave a Reply

