Books: We need to talk about Damien, I mean, Kevin.

Like most kids that grew up in the 90’s, our “Kevin” is Macaulay Culkin. Adorable. Even after his DUI mug shots a few years ago, I still think he’s just f*****g adorable.

But, after reading this book, I’ll never say the name Kevin the same way ever again or Kardashian for that matter because it rhymes harmoniously with Khatchadourian.

Last week, I stumbled upon a December issue of Time magazine that featured Tilda Swinton. I didn’t really pay attention to the interview because I was only interested if she was wearing a Haider Ackermann, but remembered that she did this “We need to talk about Kevin” movie. Haven’t heard of it before.

Same day, my husband had to pick up a can of WD-40 at a convenience store and I grabbed the copy for sale at $11.42. Tilda to me is this weird, skinny, androgynous model that can act. I have a strong feeling she gets bored easily and she’ll unapologetically yawn at dinner parties when a housewife is agog over her new cake mixer. So  I thought, if she picked up this script for a movie, then for sure, it can’t be boring. If it’s a bad book I can always throw it in the fireplace.

Just when I thought all good writers are dead, I was proven wrong. Lionel Shriver is an Albert Camus incarnation from a different dimension. An American for crying out loud.

This novel is this deep, cold, dark tunnel. What horrified me the most was not Satan’s child, Kevin and all his psycho, evil deeds. What made me read the pages over and over again was that I saw fragments of my thoughts and pieces of the people in my life sewn together in a brutally, eye gorging (literally) honest narrative.

We all think it, but dare not say it. THAT scared the crap out of me.

For the first time in a long time, I was riveted and struck to the core by a paperback novel.

To those of you who haven’t read the book, I won’t give away any more details.

If you are Mary or Gary Poppins  and fantasize about white fences, cute puppy dogs and a hefty 401K when you retire, this book is not for you.

If you don’t faint from the sight of blood, if you can laugh at yourself and accept the fact the your children are not that bright and you see life for what it is and you do what you can to make it better, maybe you’ll like the book as much I did. Let me know what you think.

Happy Reading! xx

5 thoughts on “Books: We need to talk about Damien, I mean, Kevin.

  1. I loved this book so much, I can’t even begin to describe how fantastic it was – Lionel Shriver just captivates you with the characters she creates & the emotions are so potent that I really felt invested in the story – I just kept desperately wishing for Kevin’s mother to get a break or have some sort of happiness!!

    This is a brilliant review of “We Need to Talk About Kevin” too – I’ve loved reading it & agree with everything you say about the book & Lionel Shriver – absolutely amazing! Fantastic blog post!! 🙂 xoxo

    • Dear Image Mistress,
      This book was an accidental discovery for me and I am thrilled that there’s still a lot of good writers out there that are not afraid to shake things up. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the book as I’m sure a lot of people have.

      Thank you so much for your wonderful thoughts, I do appreciate it! xx

  2. I really enjoyed your review. I could not put the book down and was so excited by it i wrote my own review in an attempt to start a discussion forum surrounding the books key issues. Perhaps you can stop by as I would love to know your thoughts on what I found to be the perplexing messages of the book.

    Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

