out of the closet: Part 1: Weddings in yellow

Here are a few snapshots of my preparations for a wedding I was part of last weekend. I was the Maid of Honor ( well, it should be Matron of Honor because I’m married but I refused the title because, uhmm… it sounds  so ‘matronly’), the bride obliged so everybody’s happy. She has to, I used to babysit her!

The wedding theme is yellow. I love yellow weddings. Mine was.

My dress is a strapless silk gown from Halston Heritage. I ordered it in size 0 ( okay, I’m not a zero at all, I’m closer to 2), but it still needed to be taken up on the sides. I was in a panic because I only had two days before the wedding. At that point I was secretly wishing, the theme was black instead. But like everything else in life, it all worked out at the very last minute.

My accessories: A  custom handmade mother of pearl and stainless steel clutch, a gift from my Mom; Heels by Brian Atwood; Crystal necklace by Dannijo; ring and bracelets from my own collection; Chanel nail polish in Graphite and Guerlain Rouge G  lipstick in Gala.

My friend Robbie, who is a make-up artist for NARS helped me with my make up. This 60’s red lipstick look was what we were hoping to achieve.

I’m so going for this Roxie Hart bit next time.

My hair stylist, Hermès did my up do. I’m sure that’s not his real name. But it sounds so expensive, I totally bought it. LOL.

It was a late afternoon wedding so I wanted to keep the hairstyle classic and neat.

Final touches and I’m off.

Wedding photos part deux on a later post! xx

2 thoughts on “out of the closet: Part 1: Weddings in yellow

Leave a Reply

