out of the closet: Black and green jade


The last month has been crazy busy. I overdid the traveling and I have been very sick. Anyway. Quick outfit post…what I must have looked like the last time I felt great. I wore this to a special family dinner.

  1. Shantung silk coat: custom made in HK
  2. Black silk dress: Doo.Ri
  3. Heels: YSL
  4. Clutch: Givenchy
  5. Jade earrings: gifted

Fell in love with these. Did not even dare go inside this store for fear of lack of funds.       No luck there 🙂 Maybe one day.

I have always loved green jade. It really is the only shade of green I am attracted to. I guess growing up in Asia, we are accustomed to wearing jade like we eat rice. My mom always told me that it is luckier if the jade was a gift to you. I don’t know if that is true but I am very superstitious so I believed her. To this day, if I want jade jewelry, I ask for it or I drop not-so-subtle hints to friends and family *winks.

“…jade is a symbol of purity and serenity. In the East, it signifies wisdom gathered in tranquility and is associated with the heart chakra (increases love and nurturing). It is a protective stone, which keeps the wearer from harm and brings harmony. It is believed to attract good luck and friendship.” – The Crystal Bible by Judy Hall

( my jade collection, Givenchy clutch, and two beauty products I’ve been wearing a lot lately, Chanel nail polish in Dragon and YSL glossy stain in no. 9 )

My jade bangle was a gift from my Mom about 9 years ago. I have never travelled without it ever since. And I rub it and say a short prayer when I feel unsafe or in need of guidance.

Hoping you’re having a lucky day! xx

6 thoughts on “out of the closet: Black and green jade

  1. I’ve spent quite a bit of time in China & Hong Kong since I was young, and have also heard that it is bad luck to buy Jade for yourself, it must be a gift. It truly is a beautiful colour.

Leave a Reply

