SF Chinese food: House of Nanking and Fang’s

 

Peter Fang, (the best cook and order-taker in the world, in my opinion) is that cool guy in the striped shirt watching over his patrons that are waiting to get in his restaurant.

House of Nanking is a San Francisco gem that has lived up to its name for more than 22 years. Peter Fang reinvents traditional Chinese cuisine with modern and interesting concoctions without compromising Asian sensibilities.

 

At House of Nanking with Mr. Fang, early 2011.

The Best Chinese food in America ever. I make it a mandatory visit whenever I am in San Francisco and I daydream about the food whenever I’m back home in the Middle East.

So, when I heard they opened a new joint, Fang’s, I had to try it. And, as expected the food was superb. Too bad Peter Fang wasn’t there to take our order this time but our waiter was really insightful and perceptive that I didn’t even have to look at the menu.

Waiter: What would you like to order?

Me: Surprise us.

Waiter: How hungry are you?

Me: I can eat for a party of five.

Waiter: Okay. I’ll take care of it.

And, he came out with these glorious servings…

Steamed pork buns. “I can die right now”.

I don’t know what this is called. Some sort of snow pea? Very delicious though.

 

BBQ pork spareribs with pineapple honey,garlic glaze and bokchoy. Heaven.

This was a spicy chicken dish, I don’t know what it’s called. It was very, very good and perfectly complimented all the other flavors of our feast.

 

 

 

 

Bloody amazing food. (heavily enunciated with a British accent, like Madonna)

I am dreaming  about it now as I’m posting these photos.

If you are in San Francisco, you just can’t miss trying out these restaurants. Both restaurants have equally great food and great service. Simply a must-do in San Francisco.

House of Nanking is on 919 Kearny Street and Fang’s is on 660 Howard Street.

Happy Eating! xx

6 thoughts on “SF Chinese food: House of Nanking and Fang’s

  1. Great pics … plus it’s great to see that Chinese restaurants exists that don’t serve food to seems to be out of the same can. Thanks for the recommendations for whenever my next trip to SF will be.

Leave a Reply

