halloween costume confusion

In 2010, I was going for “The Biker”. I take costumes seriously and I thought I got it all together, but I guess I didn’t really look like one. For these reasons, a) random people at the Halloween party yell at me, “Hey! Where’s your whip?” b) the guy in the Alan costume (Zach Galafianakis’ character in the Hangover), came up to me and asked, “So, are you some kinda police officer or something?”.

Last year, I wasn’t prepared and didn’t have time to come up with a costume. But, I just happened to have had a cropped leather jacket with exaggerated shoulder pads and a pair of leather pants (minus the blonde wig) in my suitcase. Why? It’s just the way I roll (winks). So, in 2011, I thought, I’ll be an “80’s rockstar”. Think: Asian Blondie.

That didn’t work either. I was still asked where my whip was. And my friends told me I look like the Asian version of the hooker, Vivian ( Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman).

I guess, at the end of the night I was more convinced that I didn’t look like a rockstar, because I was getting dollar bills. Rockstars get underwear thrown at them onstage not dollar bills. I rest my case.

I need to be more streamlined and concise next time. I’m torn between a burrito and a reptile costume.

I’m skipping Halloween this year, because I’m back in the Middle East now ( I was in the U.S. the last two years, and parties are more fun in that side of the world,anyway), and it’s Eid holiday here, so most of my friends are out on vacation.

Happy Halloween everyone! Don’t drink and Drive! xx

2 thoughts on “halloween costume confusion

Leave a Reply

