Books: The Shadow of the Wind

© 2012 Desert heels L1090861

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón.

This book has been on my reading list for a year now. Although I did try to read it this last summer, well, I was just too distracted. But (thankfully?) due to a recent ankle sprain, I was stuck to my couch for the last few days and happily finished the book. Finally.

Oh, Dios mío! ¡Me encanta! In english: I was thoroughly entertained.

There was drama, illicit love affairs, secret labyrinths, stable boy falling in love with the boss’s daughter (well, not quite like that, but pretty close), apparitions of Victor Hugo’s fountain pen, Franco’s war and the romantic city of Barcelona.

Yup. A scandalous soap opera that is so tastefully done. Right up my alley.

© 2012 Desert heels L1090862

“…a book is a mirror that offers us only what we already carry inside…”

So thoughtful, so true and so wise.

What I am currently carrying inside of me as I was reading : 1) Javier Bardem  (as I was casting the movie version of this novel in my head), 2 ) and of course my love affair with books (big, thick, inconvenient and still printed in paper).

This would be the perfect Christmas gift for that person in your life who loves books and has an aversion to the prospect of electronic downloads.

Happy Reading! xx

8 thoughts on “Books: The Shadow of the Wind

  1. I read this book a few years ago and ADORED it…wish every book were this good. If you haven’t read Shantaram, it would be right at the top of my list of must-reads. I’m with you on books…love the tactile pleasure involved and can’t warm up to an electronic ‘book’. I guess I’m old fashioned in that regard. Just finished an interesting book on the plane called “The Cat’s Table” by Michael Ondaatje, mainly about a young boy’s 21 day trip aboard an ocean liner from Sri Lanka to England and how it impacted his life…quite enjoyable.

    • Thank you so much for your suggestions. I’m just about to complete a big book order and I will surely look up these titles! It’s so interesting to take a peek into another person’s bookshelf. Although I do have a few downloaded copies of books to take when I travel, I always keep a paper copy at home. It’s sad that paper’s becoming extinct. And I have to admit, I feel like a cheating wife whenever I read from an iPad.:)

Leave a Reply

