Lunching in NY Soho: Galli Restaurant

© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100510

It was almost like a scene from Serendipity. Well, minus the love story. It was just a glorious snowy day in February. The air was crisp and I just scored a pair of MiH and Citizens of Humanity jeans at 70 % off, so yeah, it already was a good day.

Living most of the year in the Middle East, struggling to walk the slippery streets while wrestling with my umbrella and gusts of wind, was in my dictionary, FUN.

I was hungry and was already running late to meet a friend for her lunch break Uptown, so  I decided to just randomly pick a restaurant, and I saw Galli. It was around 1:30 in the afternoon, the crowd has gone, so it was quiet and just lovely. It was a pleasant discovery.

© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100520

© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100537© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100516

I had the Spinach salad with honey glazed pecans, crumbled gorgonzola, carrots and balsamic vinaigrette for my starter with a glass of Pinot Grigio.

© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100535

For my main course, the server suggested the Lemon Sole fillet and it did not disappoint.

It was warm and light and it was just what I needed.

© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100539

I ended my wonderful solo lunch with this homemade Tiramisu and a shot of espresso and lingered for a few more minutes before braving the cold. They were playing Bob Marley after all. Reggae in the winter. You just can’t beat that.

© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100527© 2012-2013 Desert heels L1100530

I fell in love with this joint. It’s a cozy, unpretentious place for the relaxed and hungry anti-froufrou crowd. It’s good, Italian comfort food, with kind people (read: They were attentive and genuinely happy to have you there). Plus, they let me go around taking pictures.

I can’t wait to come back.

Galli Restaurant is on 45 Mercer Street in SoHo, New York City.

http://www.gallirestaurant.com

Happy Travels and Happy Eating! xx

11 thoughts on “Lunching in NY Soho: Galli Restaurant

  1. Reblogged this on trendbytes and commented:
    Since I’m not traveling at the moment, I’m living vicariously through others. Doesn’t this sound like a perfect lunch with one of my favorite bloggers, Desert Heels?

Leave a Reply

