A New York Classic: Balthazar

© 2012-2013 Desert heels

A New York trip cannot be without a visit to this classic New York-style french bistro. At the heart of the buzzing fashionable Soho is this fool-proof meeting place that caters to both discerning palates and habitual people-watchers.  The good food and the beautiful crowd keeps this old leather warehouse a trendy, must-do dining experience in the Big Apple.

Like most popular New York restaurants, I thought it was a long shot to make reservations only a week before, but I was able to get a 6:30 seating on a Friday night. I was worried that it was a little too early for dinner but I can’t pass the opportunity to mull over the menu’s excellent offerings.

Thankfully, I was meeting my cousin who had an afternoon class at Fordham University. We were both hungry and we were ready for our feast. I started mine with a glass of Pinot Blanc and a warm goat cheese and caramelized onion tart. The complimenting flavors were absolutely divine.

I followed my hors d’oeuvre with a generous plate of their Duck Confit entrée. I have not had duck in months and this bird was a fine choice. The sumptuous taste and texture was incredible. I then made the conclusion that this maybe the best duck confit I have ever had.

I had the Pavlova with seasonal berries for dessert but forgot to take better photos. I think I felt revived by my fabulous meal and was talking too much at that point.

This prominent joint fills up pretty quickly especially after work hours. That being said, there are no half-measures with the delivery of wonderful food and the knowledgeable service in this favorite dining spot.

I hope that this beloved restaurant will stay in business for all the years to come.  To be enjoyed and savored by its steady loyal patronage… New Yorkers, New York dreamers and New York lovers, like me, who are always happy to pay a visit.

Truly a New York classic.

Balthazar Restaurant is on 80 Spring Street in Soho New York City.

Happy Travels and Happy Eating! xx

2 thoughts on “A New York Classic: Balthazar

Leave a Reply

